..of Matters Arcane and Magic #11

image

The last member of Hurvald’s Chosen has arrived..read more about the Chosen here.

The end of my course is finally here and I’m going home early tomorrow morning. I had one goal while being away and that was completing the 5 Chosen and lo and behold it is so ๐Ÿ™‚

Sigbaal, Champion of Champions

image

An absolute giant of a man, clad in sacred chaos forged armour..the only thing matching his size is his cunning ways..

Well I did mention in my first post in this series that it could change on who would be the champion ๐Ÿ˜‰

Sigbaal is actually based on a very cool sketch.

image

Again not a mirror image but the hunched pose, massive armour and the drawn face with eyes on the scalp are important features I wanted to include.

image

Even if he in some ways look a bit bland he demanded an absurd amount of work actually.

image

But as the Realm of Chaos era is important visually I think it was worth it as you didn’t have the elaborate armour yet then.

image

Here you can see I’ve expanded on the original tentacle arm. I used an armature for ease of work and pose on the arm.

All in all a fitting champion imo.

Dechrar the Warbringer

image

The first to join Hurvald the Warbringer is a true champion of chaos and can always be found in the thick of fighting..

The one that started it all! Still is one of my best miniatures imo ๐Ÿ™‚

Morrimm the symbiote

image

The symbiotic daemonspawn attached to his latest host body..

A very different character as he is only behind the wheels of a mighty warrior but very fitting for tzeentch I feel.

Decus of the Hsss

image

The Hsss are a tribe where they all have more or less the same mutation which is uncommon among the followers of the eightfold path.

Well he’s a true charmer but I’m a bit stumped that no one has caught the 80s reference ๐Ÿ˜‰

Gulvald Gibbermaw

image

Constantly murmuring about the Paths of Change Gibbermaw is still a mighty warrior of unprecedented strength and viciousness..

Also one of the very best miniatures I’ve made and very tzeentchian while not being cartoonish as I think the new plastic horrors are.

Next up I’ll start on the bestigors and the doom bull I think.

-t

image

Tagged , , ,

12 thoughts on “..of Matters Arcane and Magic #11

  1. Payce says:

    I see you found creative use for those Stormcast Eternals after all ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. ejhenries says:

    Very good looking models bud, solid green stuffing skills really paid off on them. Will you be painting them up next or are you going to carry on modelling the other chaps you mentioned first?

    • Cheers mate ๐Ÿ™‚ The sculpting has taken me far out of my comfort zone but I’ve imposed as much patience as I’ve could to get it right. The benefits are that I now see entirely new possibilities hobby wise which will be explored I can guarantee that.
      As far as painting goes the temperature back home is actually very good so I think I’ll basecoat them and start on the first just to get the scheme established.

      • ejhenries says:

        Ace stuff, I’ll be interested to see how you get on with the ol’ stuff of green. I tend to be very conservative with it, to the extent where its a glorified gap filler. That said, I’ve a couple projects on the go that are pushing me a bit (which is probably why they’ve been sidelined, ha).
        If you’ve not already, I’d highly recommend a set of clay shapers, they’re really good for smoothing surfaces and I find they’re the perfect compliment to the GW sculpting tools.

      • Yeah I used to do exactly the same but the main trick is patience and doing it one step at a time ๐Ÿ™‚ I actually have clay shapers and “dentist tools” but I didn’t really use them before I started this project.

  3. Wudugast says:

    Even though Iโ€™m a bit in love with Dechrar I canโ€™t deny that Sigbaal is looking extremely nice โ€“ and makes for a suitably imposing leader. Really impressed with the whole warband though โ€“ your skills (not unimpressive to begin with) have come on greatly here. Looking forward to seeing where this goes next ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Cheers mate ! Well he is a charmer so I’m with you there ๐Ÿ™‚ Albeit as Sigbaal developed it was inevitable that he was the one to lead. The warband has so far been an experiment and a journey into unknown aspects where I’ve really had to dig in deep to soldier on when I thought I couldn’t do it. So very happy that others can see my skills developing and all in all the feedback so far has been nothing short of overwhelmingly positive ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Franรงois Ridel says:

    Of very beautiful figurines! It is necessary that serves again one week in the hotel far from my home for beings in the race! Deeply the paint !

  5. […] The final member of the Chosen (centre model) has rearranged the command structure as he’s taken over the role of champion among champions. He’s got proper armor and all you see! The full lowdown with more pics, names and information on the Chosen here. […]

  6. […] If you want to read the tale of the tape on these guys on what we know so far see here. […]

Leave a comment