Tutorial. Post apocalyptic basing.

image

About time for a tutorial again. This time its how I base my terrain to get it textured as shown 🙂

I’ve actually made a basing tutorial for my martian sand bases if you haven’t seen it.

Okay so this tutorial will cover how I make the texture. If anyone is interested I could probably make a tutorial on how I paint mine.

With that said, here we go!

Step 1 – Materials

image

Bicarbonate soda, pva glue, GW snow flock and a sand/gravel mix from behind my house. I didn’t wash or filter it.

Step 2 – Making the foundation

image

This is a mix of pure pva and bicarbonate soda. It’s very thin, almost watery (don’t add water though only pva to thin it!)

The point with this blend is that the pva and glue harden really well and create texture in itself. This is also how I make snow but then you need a consistency like toothpaste so you can form it as you want.

Anyway!

Step 3 – Sprinkle on top

image

Now add the sand, gravel and snow flock in a controlled measure. Make sure you stir everything in properly. You still want a quite thin consistency but enough up there to actually create texture.

Step 4 – Application

image

Here you can see I’ve added a liberal amount on, including on the building and debris in general.

image

With the entire base covered let it dry overnight.

Step 5 – Ready for basecoat

image

image

image

And that’s about it. Quick and dirty just as I like it 😉

Post paint it’ll look like this.

image

It’s the first piece again but I haven’t had time to paint the new piece yet.

So any interest in a part 2 where I show how I actually paint it?

-t

Tagged , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Tutorial. Post apocalyptic basing.

  1. Ole-S says:

    Yup!

  2. Wudugast says:

    Yes, that’s really useful. Will be watching out for Part 2 🙂

  3. […] made a tutorial for how I make my post-apocalyptic basing on the terrain. You can check out part 1 here. Part 2 haven’t been made yet but will hopefully be out next […]

  4. […] front is some of the stuff I’ll be using on the bases before I use my messy mix to tie it all together and make the bases more […]

  5. […] the bases and fitted roots and bones on the bases. It looks pretty shitty at the moment but with my post-apocalyptic basing technique I’ll try to tie it all […]

Leave a comment