Battle report: Illumination

My first actual INQ 28 game and against Wilhelminiatures no less on his home turf!

Before we get to the tale itself lets get some of the more basic stuff out of the way.

Game system

Now I own both Necromunda and INQ rule books but I decided to take a very different path. I guess I’m not the first to have done it but I call my system..

Age Of Munda!

I hope that gives an idea for most straight off the bat but basically it’s the core rules of AoS with Necromunda as a weapon and stat guide.


That’s my crappy handwriting for the game cycle with notes that I took during the game. This will be refined for next week where we’ll play another game to develop it further and throw some dice with cool models on awesome terrain.

Okay!

So for the cult itself I used the AoS warscroll system simplified with some quirky rules for added flavour.



I didn’t take a pic of Wilhelminiatures rules but it’s in the same vein.

Now my thoughts behind this was making a mechanism for the cult to show that Hurvald doesn’t care about the Acolytes but they on the other hand worship him. In addition I tried to differ a bit between abhumans and the “normal” humans statwise as well.

During the game we adjusted the weapon rules and I’ll show that next week after that game.

Scenario

To create a fitting frame to play within I made a simple scenario yet again relying on AoS (I simply like that system, easy as that).



More of my crappy handwriting but it saves me a ton of time instead of writing it all over with my cellphone so hope you can bear with me 😉

The Battle report

Hurvald and the Acolytes of the All-seeing Eyeless


Hannibal Rex and his =I= retinue


The victim


How Inquisitor Rex had come upon the location of the next ritual only he knew but that it had come at a high price one could be certain of..


Deep down it was..derelict and abandoned..a labyrinth in the underhive, shunned by the scum dwelling there.


The Acolytes keeping a heavy guard as their leader, Hurvald the All-seeing performed the ritual while Rex and his retinue moved as close as possible before they unleashed the ambush.


Coming close they had no choice but to leave cover and enter the kill zones established to stop the cult.


As Rex and his retinue broke cover the cult reacted swiftly, fanning out to stop them from advancing further.


However in his eagerness to finally get hold of the cult leader Rex advanced faster than the rest of his retinue on his bionical legs. This left them behind isolated  and under heavy pressure from the cult.


The cult being well prepared ran to already established covers while raining down heavy fire on the retinue. Many took damage and the weak willed even fled from the horrors the horribly mutated cult represented. 

Rex vowed to rectify that weakness from those and cull them from his ranks..


Rex finally reach the enemy to tie them up and alleviate the pressure on his remaining retinue. His righteous fury finally released his the cult suffers massive losses in return.


However the Acolytes throw themselves against Rex to stop him but he is not to be denied and take them all down. Though in his singular fury leadership was forgotten and he stood alone, the rest dead, injured or fleeing.


Surrounded and outgunned he could do nothing as the ritual completed and the Acolytes left calmly letting Rex fume in anger of his failure..

Conclusion

First off, Helge is a really great guy and we had a fantastic time throwing some dice and drinking beer!

The rules also worked great as the AoS rules does when you’re not dependent on a very tight ruleset but just a frame to play within. Some few changes needs to be done but that’s mostly on the warscroll side as the core rules work great as is.

The scenario was quite tough for the =I= side especially as Helge gave his guys the same Ld as my normal cultists and this probably paid a huge part of why the outcome was in my favour but that’s how it is sometimes 🙂

Until next week!

-t

Tagged , , ,

32 thoughts on “Battle report: Illumination

  1. Eric M Wier says:

    Wow, this looks like such a fantastic game! I am glad you were able to meet and throw some dice around and tell a story. The board and warbands look excellent. I really like your use of the AoS ruleset as a basis for the game. I think it is a good system because it provides some framework for play, but ultimately leaves a lot for you to create and craft to tell a story. I look forward to seeing more, and seeing how your warbands develop!

    • Thank you Eric and I can confirm that it was s great game! Meeting up is actually more of a challenge than you’d think seeing I live 1600 km further north compared to Helge.
      The AoS frame is really good and it almost doesn’t require anything of pre knowledge to play so I recommend giving it a try 🙂

  2. The terrain and models look great.

  3. heresyofus says:

    Really cool looking game and the use of AoS rules as a base is a great idea. Looking foward to the next installment.

  4. Alex says:

    This looks brilliant mate, good thinking on the adapting the AoS rules. It’s a great looking table too, and the warbands both look brilliant – all in all, very inspiring mate!

  5. It is a very cool and atmospheric board with amazing minis to boot. Where are you located? I got the feeling that the board was located in Oslo since the armies on parade photos placed them there. I’m in Karlstad just across the border. Worked in Oslo for 7 years but I’m back in Sweden again but it would be nice to meet some inq28 peeps for a beer and a game sometimes.

  6. Wudugast says:

    Looks excellent! Both you and Wilhel have very distinct styles – especially in comparison to the clean ‘studio’ look that most people aim to emulate. Put them together, combined with that fantastic scenery, and the atmosphere ignites! Looking forward to seeing the pictures from your next outing 🙂

  7. Neil101 says:

    Lovely looking batrep. I have family in Norway . Great place .

  8. warbosskurgan says:

    Exquisite! I love the atmospheric board. Great looking minis. I’m intrigued by the alternative rules set too – another string in the “Inq28” bow!

  9. euansmith says:

    Excellent terrain and minis and the game sounds a lot of fun. Age of Sigmar seems a good fit for both heroic and characterful settings. I look forward to the follow up and some more pointers and notes on your Age of Munda rules.

  10. peterdhudson says:

    Looks like fun and a visual feast. Its great to see miniatures become characters in a story setting. Thanks for sharing.

  11. Itswhatevan says:

    Great stuff! So, boring question, do you use their stock movement and then add d3+1 for charge distances? I’ve already said it on instagram but this is fucking rad 😁👍🏻👍🏻

    • Cheers again mate 😀
      No we kept it at d3+1 seeing that s normal humie can move 4″ in this. He can run instead of shooting though and that’s another d3 there if you want to advance hard. We felt that this was enough to not cross to much to fast seeing the size of the terrain which was approx 1•1 foot.

  12. euansmith says:

    Are you treating the rank and file members of the warbands as a unit or as individuals?

  13. […] have been intrigued with the Age of Munda rules I made for my game against Wilhelminiatures so here’s more on that […]

  14. […] to Oslo for a course I got to play a couple of games against Helge spurring me into making the Age of Munda guidelines for playing INQ28 type […]

Leave a comment