Illuminating the Abyss #19

Even the Rubric curse cannot escape Change..

I’m so happy that I stuck to my guns and completed this miniature. I wanted to do a fresh new take that shows that all that was done was for naught. It’s given me the confidence to explore another chapter on Hurvalds path to glory. The final one. Or the one that began.

Who knows.

Who cares.

A Wall of ceramite and tortured flesh..Inpu, bound to Hurvald in the Aether and the flesh.


The Aether slowly taking over..exposure over thousands of years has led to the inevitable.


Armed with ancient technology and Aether possessed weapons..


The Wailing shield..souls that Inpu has collected for Change so that his can stay free..


The ancient tech has evolved with claws and munition from beyond..

As daylight is less by the day, here’s a more saturated picture.


And to give proper scale.


Thoughts before I start on the final piece in this series?

-t

Tagged , , , ,

15 thoughts on “Illuminating the Abyss #19

  1. Amazing mate, one of my favourite things from you for a while! The paint job has really brought it on I think!

  2. Wudugast says:

    He’s a beast mate! Looking forward to seeing Hurvald’s first and final incarnation 🙂

  3. Alex says:

    Man, that is seriously cool – the whole model is brutal, but the blending across the armour and that chest plate is bloody brilliant! So subtle, but so much impact… I love it!

  4. Paul says:

    Wow, the cathaphract looks great. The bulk of the siluette really makes one feel the immense weight and might of it. I like the claw with contrasting “weight” – the slightly more agile shape makes it look more agressive and dangerous.

    If any criticism may be allowed, i feel that the shield doesn´t match the feeling of weight and bulk of the body. It could be thicker, seems a liitle too light to me but the miniature is allready very impressive!

  5. […] don’t often post just miniatures, but for this I will make an exception. BigBossRedSkull posted a converted Chaos Space Marine onto his blog. There are a lot of bulky Games Workshop figures, most of which look unwieldy or […]

  6. Adam Wier says:

    Fantastic looking model. The colors are so worn and beaten looking. They eyes in his helm and chestpiece are so piercing and ominous!

Leave a comment