..of Matters Arcane and Magic #25

image

The first of my dragon ogres are done..

I feel the need to explain my direction here.

In mythology, ogres are often depicted as inhumanly large and tall and having a disproportionately large head, abundant hair, unusually colored skin, a voracious appetite, and a strong body. Ogres are closely linked with giants and with human cannibals in mythology.

This combined with my fascination (almost embarrassing to admit it but..) for centaurs I’ve created my take on a dragon ogre of tzeentch.

image

I’ve bulked up the original Stormcast upper body with a hideous mutation.

image

And it’s basically the mutation I see as the “dragon” aspect ie even more hideous and foul than a “normal ogre”.

image

I’m very happy with it and it’ll be fun hearing your opinion πŸ™‚

-t

Tagged , , ,

15 thoughts on “..of Matters Arcane and Magic #25

  1. Not quite sure what I’m looking at atm, But that happends often on this blogg. And as soon as I se it painted, The pure awesomeness and completely insane genius of the modell is revealed. So I’m looking forward to the end result πŸ˜€ But this looks promising πŸ˜€

  2. Marcus says:

    very very cool! Rad silhouette.
    My only thought is that the rock hammer seems a bit cavemannish/primitive
    I think maybe a fancy ornate hammer would feel more tzeentchy.

  3. So would he have originally been a Stormcast?
    Great idea as ever, think the face os my favourite part!

    • Cheers! Yeah the torso front is from the Stormcast. The guys with the two-handed hammers or rather sledgehammers. Well I do like having a clear identity on my miniatures and very rarely will a helmet solve that. Funny thing with this head is that it’s from one of the corpses in the VC corpse cart.

  4. Legatho says:

    Nice take on this one ! The whole “squad” will kickass for sure !

  5. Wudugast says:

    Hard to believe there’s a stormcast under there! Have to admit when I first saw them I thought Slaanesh, but their armour does work really well for Tzeentch. And there’s nothing wrong with an unhealthy centaur obsession πŸ˜‰ Keep β€˜em coming!

    • Hehe, yeah definitely πŸ™‚ Though it’s important for me getting bits of armour here and there so I can utilize that very (imo) cool blue as many places as possible. Are you one too? πŸ˜‰
      Will do and I received my last bits for Daemon Prince Hurvald so I’ll be starting with that as well soon.

      • Wudugast says:

        Oh without a doubt – I can hide my shameful obsession no longer πŸ˜‰ I’m not so much a fan of the straightforward half-man half-horse deal, but chaos hybrids are much more up my street. I’ve got a scheme on the backburner to use the dragon-ogres to make forgefiend-type beasties and an even madder half-formed concept to make a centaur pulled chaos tank.

        Really looking forward to seeing the daemon prince for this group by the way, and rather excited about the changescape as well of course.

      • Haha, good to hear I’m not alone πŸ˜‰ I also prefer the chaos hybrids and especially the bull centaurs.
        Those ideas are sounding really exciting BTW!
        The dp will be something else – I hope! But I think I can pull it off, or I wouldn’t have invested so much into it πŸ™‚

Leave a comment