..of Matters Arcane and Magic #14

image

Here’s the early start of my Bestigors unit.

The Children of Chaos was my second proper army actually. Inspired by the first Tale of 4 Painters and Paul “fat bloke” Sawyer’s Beastmen army. Mine was primarily a tzeentch based list even then in the early nineties.

For my Path to Glory warband I’ll let loose with the Bestigors. I have no need of uniformity like with the Chosen. Here I’ll add all kinds of various creatures blessed by change.

image

This particular model is one I’m absurdly pleased with. Very easy conversion but one I feel I really hit the mark on. Still early days but it shouldn’t be too much left. I’m mostly thinking on what kind of banner I should add. Something of cloth or any icon. Opinions?

Btw, as a little sneak peak and something that will fill in a hero slot in the warband. What do you think I’ll do to this one?

image

Very nice model btw!

image

But yeah, back to the Bestigors 😉

-t

Tagged , , ,

4 thoughts on “..of Matters Arcane and Magic #14

  1. Wudugast says:

    Very nice – a lot of the conversions I see based of the Island of Blood rat ogres have a certain uniformity to them, but this one stands out (i.e. I didn’t look at him and immediately think of a rat ogre!) My only real issue is that the banner pole looks so long but I guess that can be balanced out once you’ve decided what you want in terms of a banner.
    Looking forward to seeing what you do with the runemaster, I’m thinking that dragon helm has a lot of potential as a mask or helmet.

    • Cheers! Yeah it’s very long but that’s the stock minotaur banner pole actually. I will indeed have to balance it when I know what to use. I think it’ll have to ‘ve a large banner so I can jump into the deep end and try some free hand.
      The stunty is a delightful miniature and I’ve got something special in mind here.

  2. Adam Wier says:

    Great work with your first Bestigor. He is super deformed and creepy (a perfect fit for the warband). For the banner, I am leaning more towards just having icons rather than a cloth/skin banner (though you could still have strips of skin or something hanging from it…).

    Awesome to see you are planning something for that Age of Sigmar Runemaster. The moment I saw the model I knew he would be great for conversions (I love his face). It is a shame that I don’t think he will be widely used by hobbyists because I would guess most people never even looked at him…

    • Thank you Adam 🙂 it’s been challenging but ultimately very fun pushing every miniature so far but it’s driven me even further away from ever doing a traditional army sized project again. This is simply much more rewarding 🙂
      The Runemaster is a fantastic miniature and I’m chipping away at him. The digital rendered details are both a boon and a curse.

Leave a comment