2015 – A year in review.

image

It’s that time again! Time does fly by when you’re having fun 🙂

2015 has been a great year for me. The blog has grown steadily and it seems like a lot of people appreciate what I do and I must say it’s very gratifying and motivating that so many people take the time and come by. So thank you all 🙂

For this year’s roundup I won’t cover anything that’s not finished yet. If I’d try to say something about the absurd mass of WiPs I have lined up it would most likely take a while 😉

However, before I look back at my own work this year, here’s…

The Bigboss recommends
There’s a ton of excellent work out there and if you don’t know of these you’re kinda missing out 🙂
Iron Sleet
The Converturom
Eternal hunt
Between Bolter and me
Ex Profundis
Le Blog de Kouzes
nickeninja
Weirdingway
Thistle
EdT

Those blogs (and probably more I forgot) are a must to follow but this time around I wanted to focus on those that in my opinion aren’t getting the attention they deserve.

Here’s my top 3:

image

Ross from ClassicChaosDaemons is just the most bonkers collector of vintage lead that I know of and he’s a great mate as well! Checking his blog is as much a learning experience in our hobby-past but also an opportunity seeing them brought back to life. I always treasure his updates and my only qualm is that he doesn’t update often enough for my taste 😉

image

Dean from Nerd by Design is the mad genius from Isle of Man. I’ve been friends with Dean for years now and despite us starting at much the same (custom Ork builds) we couldn’t have developed further apart. Dean is super talented yet rather elusive with both his attention span being shit and he doesn’t always show us the good stuff as he paints it. Still I couldn’t recommend following him more – it’s worth the agony of distractions and waiting!

image

My last choice goes to Wudugast from Convert or Die. Much like myself he is a proper kitbasher and he’s got a brilliant eye for throwing excellent pieces together like the one above. Brilliant!

Honourable mentions: Circus of Paint, LD10, Ruins of Arotha and my Dread mob brother from feedyournerd.

So that was what I’ve enjoyed from others this last year though trust me I couldn’t fit all of the stuff I’ve enjoyed but this is what stuck out 🙂

My personal highlights
While I didn’t have the absurd productivity of last year I’m more satisfied this year. Quantity has its charm but I’ve been extremely focused on quality all the way working very hard to improve every skill I have. I still have miles to go..

image

My year kicked off with the Death Korps of Krieg project. While I actually traded away the painted portion of it a couple of months ago this was a great start to start tuning my skills.

image

Then the (un)Invitational happened and everything turned upside down for me. I finally decided to depart from the more classic way of a miniature project and instead make whatever I fancied – meaning INQ28. It was so fun it truly made me question why I waited so long until I made the plunge. Better late than never right 😉

image

I was happy making solo miniatures until the Adeptus Mechanicus range came – WOW! This resulted in buying a ton of stuff and doing the Dark Mechanicus project which undoubtedly is my finest army to date as I approached it much the same as with INQ28 but on an army scale.

image

I didn’t let go of the Mechanicus but instead I returned and made the loyalist version back in the INQ28 frame. I’m very proud of my Info-Executioner project and I really like the eclectic mix that despite it all are coherent as a group. Very fun!

At the tail end of the year you well know I started the Chapter 666 project.

image

This project is still in its infancy and I truly don’t know where it’ll take me. I do know I’m enjoying myself immensely and I’m taking my time making sure everything is exactly like I want it.

So that’s my view on 2015. All in all a rather smashing year if I can say so myself 🙂

image

Here’s my favourites but what’s been your favorite thing to follow this year from this blog?

-t

Tagged , , ,

24 thoughts on “2015 – A year in review.

  1. It’s Circus, but I’m still honoured by the mention!

    You’ve clearly had a very productive year, here’s to another!

  2. Wudugast says:

    Cheers for the mention 🙂 It’s been extremely inspiring following your work (coupled with the occasional pang of jealousy!) – and as ever I’m looking forward to seeing what you do next!

  3. Ross says:

    Brother! Firstly thanks for the shout out 🙂 hopefully it’ll encourage a few others to check out my little corner of the internet!

    Secondly, it’s amazing to see the progress you’ve made this year! Your productivity has been high throughout, and the stuff you’ve been churning out is gorgeous! The highlight for me has gotta be the dark admech, but I’m really enjoying seeing the grey knights develop!

    Here’s to an even more fantastic 2016!

  4. […] Hi! I’m Tommy from the blog bigbossredskullz. I’m also on Facebook. Here’s what I’ve done this year but for the full post check here. […]

  5. JoeB says:

    Thanks the great list of blogs to check out, some are new to me 🙂 Also, great work on all your accomplishments from the year. The Inq28 and the dark mechanicus are fantastic and I hope to see more next year

  6. […] panic that I’ve almost run out of words then I highly recommend heading to Heresy and Heroes or Big Boss Red Skulls (the latter is particularly exciting because he talks about me!). I’m also waiting (im)patiently […]

  7. […] already talked about what’s behind me and if memory serves me right I’ve at least hinted at what’s in store. […]

  8. Eric Wier says:

    Thanks for the mention!

    You certainly have had a remarkable year! The amount of models and the quality of each is quite astounding. And so many different projects too! I cannot wait to see what 2016 holds.

  9. […] that time again and it feels like it was just yesterday I wrote the 2015 review […]

  10. […] previous articles here’s the 2014, 2015 and 2016 reviews. It is safe to say that things have […]

  11. […] the previous “Bigboss Year in review..” 2014, 2015, 2016 and […]

  12. […] For the previous “Bigboss Year in review..” 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 and 2018. […]

  13. […] the previous “Bigboss Year in review..” 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and […]

Leave a comment