(un)Invitational. A Merciless WiP #2

Some long hours into the night and some early hours and they’re done. Here’s the WiPs in black & white.

image

The Merciless
+++
Sporting the moniker The Merciless, the Ordo Xenos Inquisitor Jun Xing has built a reputation among the elite collectors of xenos baubles as the man to go too. Sporting outlandish clothing and weaponry reminiscent of eldar styling he looks the part as well..
+++

image

image

image

image

I’ve had the base model for Jun ages. He’s as far as I know an Empire mounted wizard. I chopped him up, added an oop Incubi lower body and some eldar arms with weapons. On the pistol I added crossbow parts from the Dark Elf repeater crossbow. The cloak is from Empire outriders. On his “Batman” belt is the control unit for the servitors.
I call him the Merciless cause he looks like this guy. So there’s the reference 😉

Mean-machine
+++
We had to make some alterations when he was a child.
Quote from Inquisitor Jun Xing.
+++
image

image

image

image

This is actually a very old build. I once planned a scratch built admech army. This was one of three miniatures. The improvements this time is the combat arms, the head and the greenstuffing. Parts from plastic ogre, terminator, killa kan and dreadnought, FW servitor, sentinel. Yeah think that’s about it. Mean-machine is of course based on this fella.

Peacock
+++
The machine spirit in gun servitor ZEQ586 is volatile for its kind and has a strangely strutting and proud bearing as if it wants to impress. So I gave it the name peacock, a mythical creature from ages past.
Quote from Inquisitor Jun Xing.
+++
image

image

image

image

This model was inspired by the gun servitor as seen here.

image

Parts are chimera turret, AoBR dreadnought legs and bitz and bobs from my bitz box.

Hope you all like them but don’t be afraid to give feedback 🙂

-t

Tagged ,

8 thoughts on “(un)Invitational. A Merciless WiP #2

  1. […] Bigbossredskullz – The Merciless, Mean-Machine and Peacock […]

  2. Wudugast says:

    Wow, I’d forgotten about that gun servitor. Before I really learned the art of kitbashing and converting I really wanted one but I didn’t know how. Like your spin on it too – I see what you mean about it having a kind of cocky, arrogant pose to it. Now I really want to build one of my own at last. Oh well, it’s not like I don’t have about a billion other half-finished projects sitting around waiting for my attention… Oh wait, I do don’t I? ;-p

    • Thank you 🙂
      Yeah the old WDs are a wealth of inspiration, especially since I’m finally confident enough in my skills to actually realize them. You know for many years I didn’t get the whole INQ 28 / Blanchitsu approach where you pour in so much effort into something you’re not even planning to game with. Now as I have two 2k+ armies in WHFB and 4k+ in 40k converted and painted to a level I’m happy with I’m finally seeing it. It’s a great way of realising an idea without going the full yard making an entire army. How many times haven’t you given up on a project just because it was out of reach. Time-, cost- and effortwise. For myself, hundreds of times over the years. So go for it! It’s been enjoyable so far 🙂

      • Wudugast says:

        I know what you mean – even though I almost never play nowadays (blame it more on remoteness of location and competing interests than some kind of protest against the rules!) I’m still a lot happier to just make things up as I go along knowing that I’ve got a couple of fairly sizable armies sitting on the shelf and if I want a game, and it has to be strictly complying with the rules, then everything I need is right there.
        I’m also finding as time passes that taking on a project that seems too challenging may not lead to perfect results, but it always ends up better than not trying at all. Plus the more I push myself the more I learn and the more ideas go from being ‘utterly outside my abilities’ to ‘challenging’ and finally to ‘fun and attainable’. I’m even starting to get the hang of greenstuff for goodness sake! A couple of years ago I’d have laughed and said it would never happen.
        Anyway, keep up the good work!

  3. […] and his servitor bodyguards. Recap with my WiP pictures for those who missed it (or forgot) here. The rest of the Iron Sleet Invitational WiPs can be seen here. I recommend you check it out as […]

  4. Adam Wier says:

    Fantastic looking entries for the Invitational! I love looking at peoples representations of Inquisitors. They allow so much room for exploration and experimentation. Inquisitor Jun Xing has a really neat Rogue Trader look to him. I love the Incubi legs; they are not something you see on conversion (he sort of reminds me of Fulgrim, ha ha). His pistol really helps sell his fascination and flare for alien wargear! Any chance you could post some more pictures of him? I would love a better look at his belt!

    The gun servitor ZEQ586 is wonderful too. Perfect name and flavor for him too. He looks immensely proud and ready to stand down any enemy of the Imperium.

    • Thank you Adam, it was truly a trial figuring out worthy entries for the Invitational 🙂
      I’m happy that his flair for underhand businesses and love of flaunting sell off an almost rogue trader look. I wanted Jun to have an almost villainous look. I’m away now due to work but I’ll post some more pics when I get home next week.

      As for Peacock, he’s obviously hitting it off with people. By far the one I’ve received the best feedback on. I didn’t expect that but appreciate nonetheless 🙂 you’ll see him finished later this week as I’ve pre-planned my blog and BoLS articles on auto while I’m away.

  5. […] and WiPs are here but in short; in the center you have Inquisitor Xing aka the Merciless. His combat servitor […]

Leave a comment